How I Started Down the Historical Road

Honestly, I am not exactly sure how I ended up majoring in history. My older sister knew what she wanted to be when she was little, and she grew up and became a doctor. My mom has a theory that I ended up going into the arts just to do something different, but I don’t really buy that. To attempt to find an alternative theory, let’s start at the beginning… (and because this is a digital history course, I will reflect on some of the teaching technologies I observed through my education).

In elementary school, I liked learning about the past, but not more so than learning about science or math. I remember most fondly participating in Heritage Fairs. These fairs encourage students to study an element of local history and its broader significance using primary sources and oral histories. I did one project on the Copper Cliff Dairy, (which is sadly slated to close in a few months), and an exhibit on the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory. For the past three years, I have volunteered as a judge for the fairs and it is wonderful to see the passion and excitement students have in sharing what they have learned and interpreted of history. Unfortunately, many schools have ceased to participate in the fairs as teachers only have enough time for one major project, and more often than not, that project is science fair.

My high-school history experience was a little different from the Ontario curriculum, as I completed the International Baccalaureate (IB) diploma. In a nutshell, this academically intensive program is designed so that all students from around the world learn the same material and write the same exams at the end of two years. Considering my IB history course was catered to a global audience, we focused on European topics including monarchies, the alliances and crises surrounding the world wars, and Russian history. My teacher did not use any fancy bells or whistles. He knew his stuff, had a great textbook, and on occasion made use of the overhead projector. He did use the blackboard every day to write guiding questions for us to discuss in class and complete as homework. 

In the second year of my university career, I had to declare a major. I was reassured that it did not really matter what you studied, because an undergrad degree was an undergrad degree was an undergrad degree. Now, I could not be happier with my decision to pursue history. I had amazing professors, interesting subject material, and excellent opportunities. If there is something I remember most about technology in the classroom, it is when technology failed and the corresponding aggravation of the instructor. The few professors I had that used powerpoint used it well, and I found that by printing the slides before class, I was able to add my own notes while also listening attentively to the thought processes of the lecturer, rather than simply frantically note-taking. When I got to fourth year, I had to decide what to do with my life and it came down to a choice between law school and grad school. What helped me choose which offer to accept was talking with my professors. Technology is great, but I am so grateful for the mentorship I received from my faculty and advisors.

Upon reflection, I think my decision to pursue history was a case of one thing leading to the next. In a rather virtuous circle, I was lucky enough to tie together what I learned in books with real world travel experiences. Everywhere I read about, I wanted to visit, and every exotic region I visited reinforced what I already knew and inspired me to ask new questions. Ever since I had my first taste of the tsars and tsarinas in high-school history, I knew I absolutely had to visit Russia. I could literally post hundreds of pictures, but just for fun here are two of my favourite palaces, and that concrete building, totally former KGB headquarters!

Catherine's Palace, St. Petersburg (home of the $11 million "Amber Room")

Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg (the Bolsheviks stormed this former Winter Palace ushering in the revolution)

KGB Headquarters, St. Petersburg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How I Started Down the Historical Road

  1. sebennett10 says:

    Wow, Russia must have been amazing.

    I’ve never heard of these heritage fairs before, but it sounds like an awesome idea. I remember the science fair in grade seven and wanting to hide in dark hole from boredom and dislike of science. A heritage fair would have been so much more interesting. This is definitely something all schools should participate in, as a way to balance the interests of all students … because lets be fair, there are a lot of social science students out there who hated the mandatory science fair.

Leave a comment